+ Reply to Thread

hello, - i really need some tips on what to do . more complex than the recycle bin.

This is a discussion on hello, - i really need some tips on what to do . more complex than the recycle bin. within the Computer Data Recovery forums, part of the category; hey, first off i just want to say hi and i will appreciate and feedback. im a pc tech but ...

dmremixed is offline Junior Member

Default hello, - i really need some tips on what to do . more complex than the recycle bin.

hey, first off i just want to say hi and i will appreciate and feedback. im a pc tech but as for data recovery, it only goes so far.

my dads friend was writing a book. he has 6 novels so far.

anyhow the other day while writing he did the dreaded ctrl-c then any key after that must have deleted his things.

problem is that he is now dealing with a blank document. since it was saved, 22kb of nothing, its not a recycle bin matter. its just gone although hes been working on it for a few months.

yesterday i went over, tried almost every prog under the sun. at first i tried a sys restore, it didn't get me anywhere. it actually won't restore to an earlier point right now.

since its not on another partition, or permanently deleted (because the .doc is still there with the same file name but empty now) i'm not sure what to do.

i used doc regenerator and was able to get 10 pages out of 80....

now i know, a hd can;t be erased unless you wipe it out with a huge magnet or the microwave. his data must still be there because he was obviously saving everyday. just that one day he hit ctrl-c and then anything other key would have caused the delete. but that file still sits there, in hope...

his hd has 2 partitions, secondly obviously being D:

i don't want him to send it to a manufacturer yet, cuz if i could find 10 pages of it then i should be able to get all of it back.

any tips? should i delete the exsisting blank document with is 22kb?

i mean really, where do i go from here.